Home > People > Lab Members

Lab Members

Name Research Area Email
Prof Thomas Franz
Principal Investigator
Cell and tissue mechanobiology
Dr Mazin Sirry
Honorary Research Associate
Myocardial infarction therapies
Dr Tamer Abdalrahman
Postdoctoral Researcher
Modelling of cellular, subcellular and pericellular mechanics
Dr Kevin Sack
Postdoctoral Researcher
Efficacy prediction of biomaterial injection therapies for myocardial infarction
Absalom Maluleke
PhD student
Dispersion of biomaterials in infarcted myocardium during therapeutic delivery
Chimwemwe Msosa
PhD student
Mechanics of invasion of plasmodium falciparum merozoites into human erythrocytes and its relevance to screening of invasion-blocking anti-malarial compounds
Dodzi Motchon
PhD student
Cellular and peri-cellular mechanics in therapeutic intra-myocardial biomaterial injectates
Elizabeth Kruse
PhD student
Mechanics of virions and virion-cell interactions
Ghodeejah Higgins
PhD student
Interpreting the effect of structural and mechanical properties on cancer cell migration in 2D and 3D environments
John Nchejane
PhD student
Effect of therapeutic intra-myocardial biomaterial injectates on structure and morphology of an infarct scar
Juliet Nagawa
PhD student
Clinically-based modelling of ventricular and infarct mechanics to assess patient-specific treatment response
Riham Ahmed
PhD student
Mathematical modelling of growth-factor induced cell migration in 3D engineered matrices
Dian Haasbroek
MSc student
Role of extracellular environment in mechanical properties of human cardiac fibroblasts and myofibroblasts
Jerry Sam
MSc student
Development of a device for multi-modal mechanical manipulation of cells in 2D and 3D engineering environments
Rochelle Smith
MSc student
Cancer cell mechanics in chemoresistance and chemotherapeutic drug exposure
Thabang Matseke
MSc student
Mechanobiology of enveloped viruses during the infection process

Associates & Co-investigators

Name Research Area
Assoc Prof Deon Bezuidenhout Biomaterials
Assoc Prof Neil Davies Cellular bioengineering
Assoc Prof Georges Limbert Tissue mechanics
Dr Malebogo Ngoepe Computational biofluid mechanics